Nov 28 – 29, 2019
The University of Adelaide
Australia/Adelaide timezone

CTA Linkages Meeting 2019, Adelaide

This meeting aims to strengthen the links between Australian astronomy and the science of the next-generation TeV gamma-ray facility - the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA).

Australian astronomy spans a wide range of interests from the major investments in radio and optical astronomy, to strategic involvements in X-ray, gamma-ray, neutrino, cosmic-ray and gravitational wave astronomy.

With CTA entering its construction phase, the SKA pathfinders in operation (e.g. ASKAP, MWA, UTMOST), numerous optical facilities, and new signals in gravitational waves and neutrinos, now is the time to look closely at how these multi-wavelength and multi-messenger activities can be linked to CTA.

Remote access: Zoom

Please note that there is no registration fee for this event thanks to an NCRIS grant via Astronomy Australia Ltd. (AAL).



Keynote Speakers

Ulisses Barres de Almeida (Centro Brasileiro de Pesquisas Físicas, Brazil): CTA Science Linkages: Needs and Collaboration Opportunities from a MWL Perspective
Rebecca Blackwell (University of Adelaide, Australia): Carbon Monoxide in Our Galaxy and Galactic Centre: Implications for Understanding Gamma-Ray Emission
Markus Böttcher (North-West University Potchefstroom, South Africa): AGNs
Silvia Celli (Sapienza Universita di Roma, Italy): Particle Escape in Supernova Remnants and Related Gamma-Ray Emission
Roland Crocker (ANU, Australia): Galactic Centre - Radio to TeV
Joanne Dawson: (Macquarie University): Latest Update on the GASKAP Survey: Mapping the Milky Way ISM in HI and OH
Arache Djannati-Atai (Uni. Paris): Pulsars - Radio to TeV
Sabrina Einecke (University of Adelaide, Australia): Machine Learning - Radio to TeV
Miroslav Filipovic (Western Sydney University, Australia): Supernova Remnants in the Multi-Messenger Era
Chris Flynn (Swinburne Uni., Australia): Latest News on FRBs
Bruce Gendre (University of Western Australia): Follow-up with the Zadko Telescope
Daniela Hadasch (University of Tokyo, Japan): The Transient Programme of the Cherenkov Telescope Array
Jamie Holder (University of Delaware, USA): An Overview of CTA Science
Natasha Hurley-Walker (ICRAR, Australia): Galactic Low Frequency Radio Surveys
Gary Hill (University of Adelaide, Australia): Neutrino Alerts
Susumu Inoue (RIKEN, Japan): GRBs

Clancy James (ICRAR/Curtin Uni.) ASKAP FRBs, radio transients and MWL programme
Elina Lindfors (University of Turku, Finland): AGN MWL Observations
Daniel Mazin (University of Tokyo): CTA's Perspectives on AGN Studies and the EBL
James Miller-Jones (ICRAR, Australia): XRBs and Accretion
Alison Mitchell (Universität Zürich, Switzerland): PWN at TeV Energies
Ray Norris (Western Sydney University, Australia): Evolutionary Map of the Universe
Chris Phillips (CSIRO Sydney, Australia): VLBI
Troy Porter (Stanford University, USA): Diffuse GeV/TeV Emission
Gavin Rowell (University Adelaide, Australia): Galactic Plane Survey with the Cherenkov Telescope Array
Fabian Schuessler (CEA Irfu, France): FRB and GW Studies at TeV energies
Roberta Zanin (CTAO): CTA Project Scientist's View

Scientific Organising Committee

Gavin Rowell, Uni Adelaide, Australia
Sabrina Einecke, Uni Adelaide, Australia
Ulisses Barres de Almeida, CBPF Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Emma de Oña Wilhelmi, IEEC-CSIS Barcelona, Spain
Jamie Holder, Uni Delaware, USA
Geoff Bicknell, ANU Canberra, Australia
Roland Crocker, ANU Canberra, Australia
Csaba Balazs, Uni Monash, Australia
Duncan Galloway, Uni Monash, Australia
Celine Boehm, Uni Sydney, Australia
Shari Breen, Uni Sydney, Australia
Anne Green, Uni Sydney, Australia
Miroslav Filipovic, Western Sydney Uni, Australia
Nick Tothill, Western Sydney Uni, Australia               
Michael Ashley, Uni. New South Wales, Australia

Local Organising Committee

Gavin Rowell, Uni Adelaide
Sabrina Einecke, Uni Adelaide
Paddy McGee, Uni Adelaide

Talk durations 

  • Invited talks : 17 minutes + 3 minutes for questions

  • Contributed talks : 17 minutes + 3 minutes for questions
The University of Adelaide
Kerr Grant Lecture Theatre, Physics Building
The University of Adelaide Adelaide SA 5005 Australia

The TeVPA conference will take place in Sydney from Dec 2-6, 2019.